Silver Screen Awards

Introduced in 1991, Silver Screen Awards is the first international competition with a category dedicated to Asian cinema.

It spotlights filmmaking talents from across Asia, with a focus on Southeast Asia. Many of its awardees and nominees have since established themselves among the region’s most prominent filmmakers.


    Outstanding Contribution to Southeast Asian Cinema Award
  • In-Docs
    Southeast Asian Short Film Competition
  • Best Southeast Asian Short Film
  • Best Singapore Short Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Performance
  • Special Mention Award
    Asian Feature Film Competition
  • Best Asian Feature Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Performance
  • Special Mention Award
    Southeast Asian Film Lab
  • Fellowship Prize
  • Most Promising Project
  • Special Mention Award
    Youth Critic Award
  • Youth Critic Award

Outstanding Contribution to Southeast Asian Cinema Award Winner

In-Docs (Indonesia)

Southeast Asian Short Film Competition Winners

Vania on Lima Street by Bayu Prihantoro Filemon

Best Southeast Asian Short Film

Smoke gets in your eyes by Alvin Lee

Best Singapore Short Film

Le Lam Vien for FIX ANYTHING

Best Director

Bopha Oul In Further and further away by Polen Ly

Best Performance

Dikit by Gabriela Serrano

Special Mention Award

Asian Feature Film Competition Winners

Autobiography by Makbul Mubarak

Best Asian Feature Film

Laha Mebow for Gaga

Best Director

Zukhara Sanzysbay for Convenience Store

Best Performance

Arnold Is a Model Student by Sorayos Prapapan

Special Mention Award

Southeast Asian Film Lab Winners

Gabriela Serrano

Fellowship Prize

Rein Maychaelson

Fellowship Prize

Giovanni Rustanto

Most Promising Project

Gladys Ng

Special Mention Award

Youth Critic Award Winner

Benjamin Yap Kee Siang

Youth Critic Award

Asian Feature Film Competition Jury

Lav Diaz

Jury Head | Philippines

Lav Diaz is an award-winning Filipino auteur who excavates his country’s history in films renowned for their epic lengths, pared-down aesthetics and political convictions. Besides directing, he is also a writer, producer, editor and cinematographer. His notable works include Melancholia (2008), which won Best Film in the Orizzonti section at Venice; From What Is Before (2014), which clinched the Golden Leopard at Locarno; The Woman Who Left (2016), which took home the Golden Lion at Venice; and A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (2016), which was awarded the Silver Bear at the Berlinale.

Dennis Lim

Jury | USA

Dennis Lim is the artistic director of New York Film Festival. From 2013 to 2022, he was director of film programming at Lincoln Center, where he co-chaired the New Directors/New Films selection committee and co-founded the Art of the Real festival. He most recently authored Tale of Cinema (2022), a monograph on Korean auteur Hong Sang-soo, as well as The Man from Another Place (2015), a critical biography of David Lynch. His writing has appeared in The New York Times, The New Yorker, Artforum, Cinema Scope and Film Comment.

Kim Soyoung

Jury | South Korea

Kim Soyoung is a filmmaker, writer and academic. She directed two documentary trilogies, the first on Korean women’s history comprising Koryu: Southern Women, South Korea (2001), I’ll Be Seeing Her (2002) and New Woman: Her First Song (2004), and the second titled Exile Trilogy, that includes Goodbye My Love, North Korea (2014-2018). She also directed the fiction feature Viewfinder (2010). Her recent published works include Korean Cinema in Global Contexts: Post-Colonial Phantom, Blockbuster and Trans-Cinema (2022) and she edited the 10-volume History of Korean Cinema. Kim is the director of Trans:Asia Screen Culture Institute and a professor of cinema studies at Korea National University of Arts.

Ritu Sarin

Jury | India

Ritu Sarin is an Indian filmmaker and artist. Her documentary The Sun Behind the Clouds (2009) won the Václav Havel Award at the One World film festival in Prague. Her feature debut Dreaming Lhasa (2005) world-premiered at Toronto International Film Festival, while her second feature The Sweet Requiem (2018) also premiered at the same festival. All her films were made together with her partner Tenzing Sonam. She is the founder-director of Dharamshala International Film Festival, now in its 11th edition and widely considered to be one of India’s leading independent film festivals.

Southeast Asian Short Film Competition

Khoo Gaik Cheng

Jury | Malaysia

Khoo Gaik Cheng is an associate professor at the University of Nottingham Malaysia’s School of Media, Languages and Cultures where she teaches Southeast Asian cinema. She has published widely on independent filmmaking in Malaysia, Singapore and beyond, and most recently co-edited Southeast Asia on Screen: From Independence to Financial Crisis (1945–1998) (Amsterdam University Press, 2020). She founded the Association of Southeast Asian Cinemas which held its inaugural conference in 2004.

Lucky Kuswandi

Jury | Indonesia

Lucky Kuswandi is a screenwriter and director whose films explore issues of identity, acceptance and inclusivity. A Berlinale Talent alumnus, his first feature Madame X (2010) won Best Film at Copenhagen LGBT Film Festival. In 2015, his short film The Fox Exploits the Tiger’s Might competed in Cannes’ Critics’ Week, and won Best Short Film and Best Director at SGIFF’s Silver Screen Awards. He teaches film directing at the Universitas Multimedia Nusantara.

Tuan Andrew Nguyen

Jury | USA/Vietnam

Tuan Andrew Nguyen is an artist whose work explores strategies of political resistance by reworking historical narratives and examining speculative supernaturalisms. His films, video works and sculptural installations have been exhibited in the Berlin Biennale, Sharjah Biennial, Whitney Biennial and Asia Pacific Triennial, among others. He is a founder of art collective The Propeller Group and artist-run alternative space San Art in Ho Chi Minh City.